Friday, August 10, 2018

Two car enthusiasts from Chatteris are getting ready to embark on a 12,500 mile trip from Cambridgeshire to Japan in a 52-plate Toyota Yaris.

Read more
BBC
Tuesday, August 7, 2018

• As SCNF 9043 trundled into London St Pancras at 17:30 last Saturday, it marked the end of the 2018 Grumpster Italian adventure (Bay of Liguria).

Read more
Italy
Thursday, July 26, 2018

Ely-based theatre company KD Productions is bringing its ‘Summer Variety Show’ to The Maltings for two performances only.

Read more
United Kingdom
Friday, July 20, 2018

Clare Hammond’s piano recital was no ordinary event. A varied and in many cases a highly demanding programme kept the listeners in awe.

Read more
BBC
Wednesday, July 11, 2018

There are “grave reservations” about a planned new waste incinerator after it emerged the company hoping to build and run it has breached environmental permits at other sites across the country.

Read more
Cambridgeshire County Council
Tuesday, July 10, 2018

• The countdown has begun to the Grumpster holiday.

Read more
Iceland
Friday, June 29, 2018

Visitors to Ely may spot a new landmark on the city’s horizon – a vast, new state-of-the-art storage facility for hundreds of thousands of books belonging to Cambridge University Library and other university collections.

Read more
Mike Rouse
Monday, June 25, 2018

A mother-of-seven who lives near Littleport is giving up her time to design special trainers for children with cancer.

Read more
Northern Ireland
Sunday, June 24, 2018

Having worked with more than a dozen schools across Europe has led King’s Ely to be officially recognised as an ‘eTwinning school’.

Read more
Europe
Sunday, June 10, 2018

The production was staged by the Lord Chamberlain’s Men on the evening of June 6.

Read more
United Kingdom
Saturday, June 2, 2018

March Amateur Dramatic and Operatic Society (MADAOS) has announced read-through dates for its next production.

Read more
Europe
Wednesday, May 23, 2018

A March man who was born with no eyes has been called a ‘merman’ by organisers of a fundraising swimming competition after he scooped first place.

Read more
Europe
Wednesday, May 16, 2018

The Government has chosen Wisbech Garden Town as one of 68 projects across the UK it will promote to attract overseas investors.

Read more
Greg Clark
Monday, May 14, 2018

Turners of Soham believe they have the capacity and ability to make the best of Britain’s exit from Europe.

Read more
European Union
Friday, May 4, 2018

A road bridge or underpass will now be needed at Ely as part of long-awaited improvements to the worst bottleneck on the region’s railway network.

Read more
James Palmer
Tuesday, April 24, 2018

March resident Dan Roper joined the GB Goalball squad as they took on Europe’s best at the Middle European Goalball League (MEGL) tournament.

Read more
UN Court
Friday, April 13, 2018

A high profile plea has been made to the Prime Minister to fast track a train station so people can travel directly to Addenbrooke’s Hospital, the New Royal Papworth Hospital and the BioMedical campus.

Read more
James Palmer
Thursday, March 29, 2018

In 2013 three well known members of Westacre Theatre Company – Irma Fowler, Lesley Mardle and Leah Spencer – decided to perform poetry and prose in aid of charity. And that’s how Three’s Company was born.

Read more
Europe
Wednesday, March 21, 2018

Women’s health campaigners are urging the Government to put patient safety at the top of their agenda in the next round of Brexit negotiations.

Read more
European Union
Tuesday, February 27, 2018

A family run chocolate factory in Ely, that promotes understanding and acceptance of autism, has launched a blue egg in time for Easter.

Read more
United Kingdom
Monday, February 26, 2018

• There are many things the Grumpster is passionate about: family; friends; Church; curries and of course, my long-suffering Doris. You can add history to that list. So today, by way of a change, I have penned a piece, comparing Hitler to Henry Tudor. While not wishing for a second to diminish the heinous crimes of the Beast of Branau, there are intriguing similarities and with 20th century technology and weaponry, late 15th century England would have been a terrifying place. I have identified eight similarities:

Read more
United Kingdom
Thursday, February 1, 2018

Locally-born concert pianist Warren Mailley-Smith returns to Ely Cathedral for the biggest and most varied Ely Valentine’s concert yet next weekend.

Read more
BBC
Sunday, January 28, 2018

Pressure, the acclaimed play by David Haig, is being performed at the Cambridge Arts Theatre from Thursday 1 to Saturday 10 February.

Read more
United Kingdom
Monday, January 22, 2018

These fantastic images show a B-52 Stratofortress being refuelled over the North Sea by a KC-135 tanker from RAF Mildenhall.

Read more
United Kingdom
Tuesday, January 9, 2018

The Wisbech Music Society will host a concert by the internationally-acclaimed duo of Michael Foyle (violin) and Maksim Štšura (piano) this month.

Read more
Wisbech Grammar School
Friday, January 5, 2018

Mayor James Palmer has called for Corporation Tax to be slashed to 10 per cent to enable Cambridgeshire and Peterborough to attract investment.

Read more
James Palmer
Thursday, January 4, 2018

An arboretum, lake, visitor centre, shops, café, and conference centre have been approved for the Barcham Trees site that will sprawl across 17 acres, provide an extra 25 job and attract tens of thousands of visitors annually. John Elworthy

Read more
Europe
Tuesday, January 2, 2018

Ely commuters have returned to work sour-faced this morning after finding out their season ticket to London has increased - topping the £5,000 barrier.

Read more
Labor
Thursday, December 28, 2017

The Cambridge University European Theatre Group returns to the ADC Theatre in Cambridge from Tuesday 16 to Saturday 20 January.

Read more
Cambridge University
Tuesday, December 19, 2017

Swan counts have revealed that numbers of Bewick’s swans are very low for this point in the season at WWT Welney Wetland Centre.

Read more
United Kingdom

Most read stories

Show Job Lists

Show Job Lists

Digital Edition

Image
Read the Cambs Times e-edition E-edition

Newsletter Sign Up

Cambs Times weekly newsletter
Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy