Clare Butler

Reporter covering news, reviews and entertainment across March, Wisbech and Ely.

Saturday, October 24, 2020

A police call handler based in Huntingdon has shared the difficult realities of working on the frontline during a global pandemic.

Read more
Friday, October 23, 2020

A cheeky visitor who did a stint in custody in Cambridgeshire sent police scratch cards to “get better coffee” - which led to an unlikely win.

Read more
Wednesday, October 21, 2020

Strictly Come Dancing winner and former British gymnast Louis Smith will host a virtual sports awards in Cambridgeshire.

Read more
Friday, October 2, 2020

A cannabis farm with around 370 plants worth up to £310,000 was raided by police in Alconbury.

Read more
Friday, September 25, 2020

Police are urging farmers to remove GPS devices from vehicles overnight following the two recent incidents.

Read more
Tuesday, September 22, 2020

Elderly people across Cambridgeshire are being encouraged to reach out and ask for help this winter – after lockdown left many feeling isolated.

Read more
Wednesday, September 9, 2020

Hospital bosses say “robust plans are in place” to ensure they cope this winter by increasing staffing levels and stocking up on flu jabs amid fears of a second spike in coronavirus.

Read more
Monday, August 24, 2020

A driver who overtook a car at more than 60mph and careered into three oncoming vehicles near Earith has been given a suspended sentence.

Read more
Friday, August 21, 2020

A stretch of road in Ramsey could be closed or have safety barriers installed after “a number of fatalities” including the death of a mother, daughter and unborn baby, a coroner has said.

Read more
Monday, August 10, 2020

A man arrested on suspicion of drug driving after a lorry overturned closing the A1 at Brampton has been released under investigation.

Read more
Wednesday, August 5, 2020

A former primary school caretaker who secretly recorded indecent videos of pupils has been jailed for five years.

Read more
Monday, August 3, 2020

A car and agricultural vehicle crashed in Pidley - but no one was seriously injured.

Read more
Tuesday, July 21, 2020

Car parking charges will return for patients and visitors at Hinchingbrooke Hospital from August 3 – but staff will continue to park for free.

Read more
Friday, July 17, 2020

A senior cancer nurse at North West Anglia Foundation Trust is hanging up her boots after four decades of caring for critically ill patients around the country.

Read more
Friday, July 10, 2020

A horse was rescued and a haul of cannabis seized by police in a caravan and two sheds in Ramsey Heights.

Read more
Monday, July 6, 2020

A rave of around 30 people at a warehouse in Warboys was broken up by police and one man arrested on Saturday (July 4).

Read more
Friday, July 3, 2020

A man and woman from St Neots charged in connection with the death of 12-week-old Teddie Mitchell have appeared in court today (July 3).

Read more
St Neots
Thursday, July 2, 2020

Children must be back at school from September – with social bubbles to keep year groups separate and the supply of home testing kits.

Read more
Monday, June 29, 2020

A driver was clocked at 100mph in a 30mph zone in Colne on the B1050 by a roadwatch group during lockdown.

Read more
St Ives
Tuesday, June 9, 2020

Tributes have been paid to a “terribly missed and loved” mother and her pregnant daughter who tragically died in a crash near Ramsey at the weekend.

Read more
St Neots
Monday, June 8, 2020

A pregnant woman driver and passenger have died after their car careered into a water-filled ditch in Ramsey.

Read more
Ramsey
Wednesday, May 27, 2020

More than 200 parents across Cambridgeshire have signed a letter urging the county council not to reopen schools on June 1 - saying government guidance is “contradictory, impractical and compromises safety”.

Read more
Huntingdon
Friday, May 22, 2020

Council bosses in Cambridgeshire say they won’t advise any school to reopen until “scientific evidence clearly proves that it is safe to do so”.

Read more
Tuesday, May 19, 2020

Vintage jewellery and a bag were fished out of a river in Earith which police think could be related to a burglary.

Read more
Monday, May 18, 2020

Seven men were stopped by police for theft of a fish, no rod licences and fishing out of season in Ramsey.

Read more
Friday, May 8, 2020

Tributes have been paid to the first Ely Hero winner “Mr Little Thetford” Bert Russell who has died at the age of 92.

Read more
Monday, May 4, 2020

Business leaders have set out plans to restart the economy and reopen schools as the Government considers plans to lift lockdown.

Read more
Friday, February 21, 2020

A man accused of murdering six-year-old Rikki Neave 25 years ago is facing a trial in the autumn.

Read more
Friday, February 21, 2020

Three people were seriously injured after a car flipped on its roof in a three-vehicle crash in Wisbech.

Read more
Thursday, February 20, 2020

A 75-year-old from March will publish his first novel about a struggling runner from the Fens who is on track to become an Olympic star after a twist of fate.

Read more

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Cambs Times