Sunday, November 25, 2018

It is no wonder G4’s Christmas concert in Ely Cathedral last Tuesday was a sell out.

Read more
Tuesday, October 23, 2018

Ely Choral Society, clarinet soloist Koren Wilmer, baritone soloist Jonathan Midgley, organist Edmund Aldhouse and conductor/accompanist Andrew Parnell gave a splendid concert in Ely Cathedral on Saturday.

Read more
Wednesday, October 17, 2018

The Medlock Ensemble gave a splendid concert in aid of Camtrust at All Saint’s Church in Cottenham on Sunday October 7.

Read more
Tuesday, August 28, 2018

Other than on the small TV screen, I had never seen a film of a concert on such a grand scale before.

Read more
Monday, August 20, 2018

It has recently been reported that the Cambridgeshire and Peterborough Clinical Commissioning Group’s Governing Body has decided that it would consult us about its idea to cut the number of inpatient beds in hospital for people with learning disabilities.

Read more
Monday, July 23, 2018

It has been reported that a large number of children are being prescribed anti-depressants and that many of them do not need them.

Read more
Friday, July 20, 2018

Clare Hammond’s piano recital was no ordinary event. A varied and in many cases a highly demanding programme kept the listeners in awe.

Read more
BBC
Monday, July 16, 2018

At the moment, bureaucracy appears to rule and ruin our lives. While some form-filling is needed, the pages and pages of information required is getting ridiculous.

Read more
Monday, July 2, 2018

Are we customers or slaves? In the good old days, we went into shops, asked for something and the shop assistant would get what we wanted and sell it to us or would order it if they did not have it in stock. Nothing was too much trouble.

Read more
Tuesday, June 19, 2018

Attitude change needed towards cannabis use for health reasons

Read more
Monday, June 4, 2018

Life is not fair. That is what we have been told by our parents and what we have probably been saying to our own children. It is accepted as the norm.

Read more
Tuesday, May 29, 2018

At last, new T-level qualifications are being introduced: ones that will be practical and on a par with ‘A’ levels.

Read more
Wednesday, May 23, 2018

At last we have good news filling the headlines.

Read more
Wednesday, May 16, 2018

So, we are fobbed off again. We ordinary people in the county often put forward valid concerns to our council but are ignored.

Read more
Tuesday, May 1, 2018

From its inauguration in 1999, Ely Sinfonia conducted by Steve Bingham has developed into a fine orchestra and its latest concert at Ely Cathedral certainly had its highlights.

Read more
Russia
Saturday, April 14, 2018

Our planning system appears to be transparent and fair. There seems little one can do to disrupt the democratic process, or to cover up anything untoward.

Read more
East Cambs District Council
Tuesday, March 27, 2018

Do government inspections or reviews give value for money? Is any notice taken of the findings; does anything improve?

Read more
Thursday, March 15, 2018

At last the education secretary, Damian Hinds, is going to cut down teachers’ workloads.

Read more
Wednesday, March 7, 2018

It has been reported that the government will be changing The National Planning Framework so that so-called ‘nimby councils’ that do not allow enough houses to be built in their district will be ‘stripped of their powers’.

Read more
Tuesday, February 20, 2018

The easiest way to deal with problems in an organisation is to turn a blind eye.

Read more
Wednesday, February 14, 2018

Locally-born concert pianist Warren Mailley-Smith gave a wonderful St Valentine’s concert on Saturday.

Read more
Monday, February 5, 2018

We like to think that we live in a fair and open society, but do we? In this day and age of ‘blame culture’, nobody is safe from being targeted as the cause of the ills of our society.

Read more
NHS

Most read stories

Show Job Lists

Show Job Lists

Digital Edition

Image
Read the Cambs Times e-edition E-edition

Newsletter Sign Up

Cambs Times weekly newsletter
Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy