Achievement awards for young LEADA actors

Some of LEADAs award winners.

Some of LEADAs award winners. - Credit: Archant

Seven talented young actors have been awarded for their ‘outstanding achievements’ throughout the year so far.

As members of LEADA, a Wisbech-based drama group set up three years ago by Linda Ekins, they were given a number of awards.

Laura Santos was named best newcomer, Cain Gray best dancer, Anderson MacCormick best vocal performer, Sophie Fenner most improved performer and Anya Robins most versatile actor.

Two members, Michaela Matthew and Ewan McConnachie, also received the outstanding contribution award in recognition of their hard work.

The company cup was awarded to Michaela Matthew, having been voted for by fellow actors for ‘being inspiring, supporting and a great friend and company member’.

You may also want to watch:

Linda Ekins, LEADA owner and principal tutor, said: “During the year at the Queen Mary Centre, all LEADA members developed skills and grew in confidence. “They created their own plays; devised plots, wrote scripts, honed characters, rehearsed and performed them to appreciative audiences.

“They learned much, made great friends and had a lot of fun.”

Most Read

For more information about LEADA visit

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter