Creative writers are shortlisted for Fenland Poet Laureate competition

Previous poet laureate winners Elaine Ewart, Poppy Kleiser and Leanne Moden

Previous poet laureate winners Elaine Ewart, Poppy Kleiser and Leanne Moden - Credit: Archant

The shortlist has been announced for the Fenland Poet Laureate competition.

After much deliberation, the judges say they have made their decisions for the event, which is now into its fourth year.

The short listed poets in the adult category are William Alderson, Josh Bone, Miriam Brown, Charles Davey, Nigel Hilliam, Alan Irving, Helen Pletts, Martin Simmonds, Dominic O’Sullivan and Jonathan Totman.

In the ten to seventeen age group, the ten finalists are Joe Bunker, Alex Florance, Sana Khan, Anna Kober, Harriet Munson, Alice Pealling, Georgina Puttock, Rajveer Sira, Kristina Tunnard and Kenzie Whyatt.

This year there will also be a special merit prize for the best non-Fenland poem which will be awarded to Cassandra Silva.

The winner will be crowned Fenland Poet Laureate 2015 and will have the opportunity to write about events throughout the year, present poems for special occasions and work with local organisations to boost the visibility of poetry in the region.

The awards also recognise the talents of young people in the area, with a Young Fenland Poet Laureate award and trophy for the judges’ favourite poem in the ten to seventeen age group.

Most Read

The judges read more than 130 entries and picked their favourite ten poems in each category.

The Fenland Poet Laureate Awards are supported by Atelier East, ADeC and the Wisbech and Fenland Museum. The organisers are grateful to the Wisbech Town Council and the Friends of the Wisbech and Fenland Museum for helping to fund this year’s ceremony.

The awards ceremony is at 7pm on Friday March 27 at the Wisbech and Fenland Museum in Wisbech.

To put your name on the guest list email the team on

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter