MBE for Jonnie in New Year’s Honours, an MBE too for Ely historian Pamela Blakeman and the BEM for Haddenham’s David Fairchild

BLINK and you might have missed the eight words on an email from the Press Association, Britain’s leading press agency charged with unveiling New Year’s Honours, but there it was- Jonnie Peacock MBE.

BLINK and you might have missed the eight words on an email from the Press Association, Britain’s leading press agency charged with unveiling New Year’s Honours, but there it was- Jonnie Peacock MBE.

Actually what the citation said was “Jonathan Peacock. Sprinter. For services to Athletics. (Cambridgeshire)”.

Finally though the secret is out and the golden boy of British Paralympics can put the icing on a remarkable 2012 cake.

His mum Linda has frequently described how she was in tears before her son stepped up to compete in the T44 100 metres final and moments later she fell speechless as the crowd, chanting ‘Peacock, Peacock’ watched spell bound as he crossed the line first and in front of 80,000 spectators.

You may also want to watch:

Sprinting sensation Peacock, from Doddington, contracted meningococcal meningitis and septicaemia aged five and had his right leg amputated below the knee.

But his well documented progression to Paralympics – and his extraordinary success- hasn’t stopped him becoming patron of the Meningitis Research Foundation and not just a champion on the track but a champion of the killer disease as he warns others of what to look out. he is telling others to look out for the disease, which carries a heightened risk over Christmas and New Year when immune systems are weakened from fighting common colds.

Most Read

Jonnie said: “Hopefully my involvement will help make a difference.”

Now his year is ending on an extraordinary high as The Queen singles out his achievement for an MBE.

In East Cambridgeshire there were celebrations too as a parish councillor collected an honour, as did an Ely historian.

ELY historian Pamela Blakeman said she was delighted to have been made an MBE in the Queen’s New Year’s Honours list.

Ms Blakeman, of Nutholt Lane, received a letter informing her of the honour in November and admitted it was “a total surprise”.

A teacher by profession, Pamela started her collection of photos and memorabilia relating to Ely more than 25 years ago and her collection has grown to include more than 4,000 items.

She has published several books on the history of Ely from the 19th Century to the modern day, including Ely and Ely Through Time - and has also helped to produce documentary films.

She was awarded the freedom of the city of Ely in 2009 and said she would be looking forward to collecting her honour from the palace.

Councillor David Fairchild of Haddenham was awarded the British Empire Medal in the Queen’s New Year’s Honours list for services to the community in Haddenham and Aldreth.

Cllr Fairchild, 75, has been a serving member of Haddenham Parish Council for 49 years and the chairman of the Arkenstall Centre committee for 42 years, attending 300 consecutive meetings.

He also sits on the Haddenham Bonfire Committee, Haddenham Level Drainage Board and is the president of the Haddenham Young Farmers Club.

He said it was “a real honour” to have been recognised for his work in the villages and added that he was looking forward to reaching his 50th year on the council.

He said: “I haven’t told many people yet because we had to keep it secret but it’s quite something to have been recognised and I was delighted when I received the letter.”



Dr David Douglas Cleevely. Founding director, Centre for Science and Policy, University of Cambridge. For services to Technology and Innovation. (Cambridgeshire)

Ms Sherry Coutu. Angel Investor. For services to Entrepreneurship. (Cambridgeshire)

Professor Francis Patrick Kelly, FRS. Professor of the Mathematics of Systems,

University of Cambridge. For services to Mathematical Science. (Cambridgeshire)

Stephen Munday. Executive Principal, Comberton Village College, Cambridgeshire, and National Leader in Education, National College for School Leadership. For services to Education. (Cambridgeshire)


Professor Winifred Mary Beard. Professor of Classics, University of Cambridge. For services to Classical Scholarship. (Cambridgeshire)

Keith Nancekievill. Formerly Headteacher, Hinchingbrooke School, Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire. For services to Education. (Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire)

Miss Caroline Neville. Formerly Executive director, Skills Funding Agency. For services to Further and Higher Education and the Skills Sector. (Cambridgeshire)

Dr Miles Michael Parker. Director, Strategic Evidence and Analysis, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs. For services to Improving Government Science. (Fowlmere, Cambridgeshire)

Professor Janet Todd. President, Lucy Cavendish College, University of Cambridge. For services to Higher Education and Literary Scholarship. (Cambridgeshire)


Miss Pamela Beatrice Mary Blakeman. Local Historian. For services to Heritage in Ely, Cambridgeshire. (Ely, Cambridgeshire)

Robert Ian Burn-Murdoch. Curator, Norris Museum. For services to the Heritage of St. Ives, Cambridgeshire. (Cambridgeshire)

Paul Arthur Hall. National Technical Support Coach, British Gymnastics. For services to Gymnastics and the London 2012 Olympic and Paralympics Games. (Cambridgeshire)

Ms Caroline Alberta Hansford. Founder, Malawi Education Link. For services to Primary Education in Malawi. (Cambridgeshire)

Dr Martin Jones. Chair, Policy Advisory Committee, United Kingdom Accreditation Service. For services to Accreditation. (Cambridgeshire)

Mrs Anne Murray. Lay Member, Academy of Medical Royal Colleges and Faculties. For services to Healthcare. (Cambridgeshire)

Jonathan Peacock. Sprinter. For services to Athletics. (Cambridgeshire)

Mrs Felicity Anne Pugh. For charitable services in Cambridge. (Cambridge, Cambridgeshire)

David Cyril Elliot Ridgeon. Vice-chairman, Ridgeon Builders Merchants. For services to the Builders Merchants Industry and to the community in Cambridgeshire. (Cambridge, Cambridgeshire)

Ronald Arthur Stanley. Senior Systems Engineer, Ofcom. For services to Spectrum Engineering. (St Neots, Cambridgeshire)

Dr Charles Winthrop Molesworth Swithinbank. Glaciologist. For services to Exploration and Research in the Antarctic. (Cambridge, Cambridgeshire)

Ms Erica Grace Towner. Formerly director of Partnerships, University of East Anglia. For services to Higher Education. (Cambridge, Cambridgeshire)



David George Fairchild. For services to the communities in Haddenham and Aldreth Cambridgeshire. (Ely, Cambridgeshire)

Mrs Jill Hucklesby. For services to the community in Peterborough. (Peterborough, Cambridgeshire)

John Colyer Hucklesby. For services to the community in Peterborough. (Peterborough, Cambridgeshire)

Ms Joyce Mitchell. Club Leader, Cambridge Physically Handicapped Able Bodied Club. For services to the community in Cambridgeshire. (Cambridgeshire)

Mrs Margaret Ruth Perryman. For services to the community in Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire. (St Ives, Cambridgeshire)

Mrs June Wilson. For services to the community in Brampton, Cambridgeshire. (Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire)

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter