Rail winners from across the region and local stations among those commended

FENLAND and East Cambs figure in the annual awards for ‘station adopters’ from across the Greater Anglia rail network.

FENLAND and East Cambs figure in the annual awards for ‘station adopters’ from across the Greater Anglia rail network.

They were honoured at the train operator’s annual awards ceremony this year held at the East Anglian Railway Museum, Chappel on Friday.

The scheme encourages volunteers from Cambridgeshire, Essex, Norfolk and Suffolk to contribute to the upkeep of their local stations.

The 2012 Greater Anglia Station Adopter Awards were presented by special guest Neil Buxton, General Manager of the Association of Community Rail Partnerships, assisted by Andrew Goodrum, Greater Anglia’s Customer Service Director.

You may also want to watch:

Andrew Goodrum, Greater Anglia’s Customer Service Director, said: “Our Station Adopter scheme continues to go from strength to strength.”

He said this year’s Roll of Honour saw awards distributed across the region, underlining the growing support for the Station Adopter scheme. The winners, runners-up, highly commended and finalists in each category were:

Most Read

Best Small Station



Runner up

Bures, Darsham

Highly commended


Other finalists: Alresford, Brampton, Cantley, Chappel & Wakes Colne, Great Chesterford, North Fambridge, Reedham, Somerleyton, Worstead.

Best Medium Station



Runner up


Other finalists: Attleborough, Wymondham.

Best Staffed Station

Winner Colchester



Other finalists: Diss, Gidea Park, Witham.

Most Improved Station

Winner: Kirby Cross

Other finalists: Brundall Gardens, March, Thetford.

Innovation Award

Winner: Annette Day, Darsham station adopter.

Other finalists: Lucy Ainger and Lynda Stone of the Essex and South Suffolk Community Rail Partnership, Isabella Warren Great Chesterford Station adopter, Corinne Sermons Marks Tey station adopter.

Community Involvement

Winner: Friends of Thetford station

Highly Commended, Friends of March station

Other finalists: George McKissock and Sue Dawes Wivenhoe Station adopters, Great Yarmouth Welcome Hosts, Steve Mitchell Wickham Market station adopter.

Best Adopter Group

Winner: Crouch Valley Line Promotion Group

Highly Commended, Cantley

Other finalists: Cantley, Ely, Thetford, West Runton, Witham, Wivenhoe.

Special Award

Winner: Wivenhoe station adopters (George McKissock and Sue Dawes)

Other finalists: Darsham, Newport, Somerleyton.

Best Personal contribution

Winner: Corinne Sermons Marks Tey station adopter

Other finalists: Isabella Warren Great Chesterford, Paul and Katherine Howard South Woodham Ferrers station.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter