Sports stars at Neale-Wade Community College rewarded at PE awards night

TALENTED sports stars at Neale-Wade Community College were rewarded for their achievements at the school’s annual PE presentation evening.

The March school’s fifth evening of sporting celebration was held on Tuesday to highlight the numerous successes of pupils at the school. The evening was attended by governors and senior staff including outgoing principal Tim Hitch and his successor, Olympian Jason Wing.

Student gymnasts Joe Brown and James and William Evans performed an explosive tumbling routine to display just some of the sporting talent in Neale-Wade’s ranks before presentations began.

Mr Smith, from Liqui Moly, the sponsors of the school’s Sports Academy, was present to award the academy trophies to Tom Morton and Emma Searle.

Colours for sports were handed out and Mr Hitch presented his two new trophies, Tim Hitch Most Promising Footballer at Key Stage 3 to Adam Conyard and Tim Hitch Outstanding Student Performance in Sport to Joe Brown who achieved a silver medal at the national gymnastic competition.

Aidan Payne - who made his debut for March Town United Reserves last season at the age of just 16 - received the Chris Hill Award for outstanding sporting contribution.

The talented teenager was praised for not just his “excellent performances” in numerous sports but also his “dedication and commitment to help the department whenever asked”.

Most Read

The list of winners in full:

Boys Junior Cross Country - Tyler Carter

Girls Junior Cross Country - Erin Powell

Junior Netball - Alice Clarke

Boys Junior Football - Dylan Sheldrake

Girls Junior Football - Fran Plitsch

Junior Rugby - Oscar Harrison

Tocher Year 7 - Skye Leigh

Tocher Year 8 - Frasier Casson-Rennie

Tocher Year 9 - Kathleen Roberts

Boys Junior Cricket - Josh Loosemore

Boys Senior Cross Country - Ryan Cross

Girls Senior Cross Country - Fran Peeling

Senior Netball - Brooke Bartrum

Senior Rugby - Toby Hewitt

Senior Boys Football - Luke Bradshaw

Senior Boys Cricket - Jacob Brown

Senior Girls Football - Eilish Brown

Junior Sports Leaders Award - Lucy Webb

Sportsman Year 7 - Connor Wicks

Sportswoman Year 7 - Danielle Green

Sportsman Year 8 - Harrison Smith

Sportswoman Year 8 - Sydney Davis

Sportsman Year 9 - Ashley Payne

Sportswoman Year 9 - Dannielle Westgate

Sportsman Year 10 - Ashley Hicks

Sportswoman Year 10 - Alana Sugden

Sportsman Year 11 - Kai Scott-Henson

Sportswoman Year 11 - Faye Cockle

Community Sports Leaders Award

Basketball - Alesi Willett

Badminton - Jamie Veitch

Boys Junior Athletics - Hayden King

Boys Senior Athletics - Ashley Hicks

Girls Junior Athletics - Fran Plitsch

Girls Senior Athletics - Lauren Russell

Team Of The Year - Year 8 Boys Rugby

Most Improved Student Boy - Ben Norton

Most Improved Student Girl - Maddison Garner

The Chris Hill Award For Outstanding Sporting Contribution - Aidan Payne

Academy Award Boy - Tom Morton

Academy Award Girl - Emma Searle

Tim Hitch Award For Outstanding Performance in Sport - Joe Brown

Tim Hitch Award For Most Promising Footballer At Key Stage 3 - Adam Conyard

Senior Rugby Colours

Elliot Watson

Toby Hewitt

Devan Bates

Junior Colours Rugby

Oscar Harrison

Josh Loosemore

Charlie Harrison

Jordan Smith

Jordan Mould

Harry Wilson

Ben Norton

Daniel James

Connor Pears

John Montgomery

Liam White

Josh Palmer

Junior Colours Football Boys

Dylan Sheldrake

Harrison Smith

Tom Morton

Adam Conyard

Ethan Kirby

Keaton Smith

Ben Norton

Solomon Orieji

Connor Mazurek

Junior Colours Football Girls

Fran Plitsch

Bethan Evans

Maddison Garner

Sydney Davis

Senior Colours Football Boys

Toby Nulty

Connor Hughes

Geogre Buckenham

Ross Crawford

Ashley Hicks

Harry Furnell

Elliot Watson

Jacob Brown

Fraser Semper

Ashley Blanchflower

Senior Colours Football Girls

Rosie Coe

Alana Sugden

Danielle Croucher

Eilish Brown

Frances Peeling

Aimee Wilson

Heather Nicholls

Abbie Loosemore

Junior Athletics Colours

Josh Palmer

Ben Norton

Keaton Smith

Liam Carey

Fran Plitsch

Jordan Lucas

Molly Darwood

Paris Wakelen

Senior Athletics Colours

Issac Wilson

Ashley Hicks

Heather Nicholls

Fran Peeling

Jack Hawkins

Conner Hughes

Jacob Brown

George Hall

Lauren Russell

Toby Hewitt

Junior Netball Colours

Gina Unwin

Alice Clarke

Emily Williams

Lauren Sparrow

Senior Cricket Colours

Toby Nulty

Jacob Brown

Lewis Sindle

Martyn Bulbrook

Kieran Oldroyd

Year 7 Excellence

Amy Newell

Brooke Anderson

Erin Powell

Dannielle Green

Connor Wicks

James Youles

Sol Mcabe

Jordan Mason

Ben Moore

Ben Sutton

Harry Seeley

Molly Smethurst

Tyler Carter

Lewis Hussey

Ellis Fulcher

Ryan Harnwell

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter