UKIP announces East of England candidates for European Parliament election

UKIP MEP Stuart Agnew

UKIP MEP Stuart Agnew - Credit: Archant

The UK Independence Party (UKIP) has announced its seven candidates who will represent the East of England at next May’s European Parliament election.

Patrick O'Flynn.

Patrick O'Flynn. - Credit: Archant

Patrick O’Flynn, chief political correspondent at the Daily Express, is the lead candidate.

Tim Aker.

Tim Aker. - Credit: Archant

Stuart Agnew MEP, who represents the region in the European Parliament and Tim Aker, who is the Head of the Party’s Policy Unit, have also been selected.

Michael Heaver, Andrew Smith, Mick McGough and Andrew Monk complete the UKIP ballot list.

Mr Agnew said: “We are fielding a strong team and I look forward to working with Patrick O’Flynn.

You may also want to watch:

“His arrival will be taken very seriously by our regional media.

“Under Patrick’s leadership, we give ourselves the best chance of winning a third seat in the east and, dare one say it, a fourth?”

Most Read

Party Leader Nigel Farage MEP said: “UKIP is putting forward exceptionally high calibre candidates for the 2014 European elections, which we are hoping to win.

“The plan now is to turn the elections in May into a referendum on our EU membership and cause an earthquake in British politics.

“UKIP is the only party serious about quitting the EU and taking back control of our country from Brussels.”

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter