County success for Neale-Wade cricketers

Neale Wade cricket.

Neale Wade cricket. - Credit: Archant

Neale-Wade Academy’s Year 9 Girls are county champions after triumphing in the 2016 Cambridgeshire Cricket Finals.

Neale Wade cricket.

Neale Wade cricket. - Credit: Archant

The team overcame Linton Village College in the final, which was held at Clare College.

Students from Year 7 and 8 also took part in the competition, which saw Neale-Wade compete with top teams from other Cambridgeshire schools, including Cromwell Community College, St Faith’s School, the Perse School, North Cambridge Academy and the Stephen Perse Foundation.

The Year 7 team made the semi-final in their first competitive tournament, thanks to some excellent batting from Georgia Runacres and Leah Bass, and exceptional fielding from Caitlyn Baker.

Neale-Wade P.E teacher Sophie Bywater said: “The students were absolutely fantastic and were a true credit to the academy.

“Their sportsmanship and encouragement of others in the face of tough opposition was admirable.”

Full team listings

Most Read

Year 9 Girls Cricket Team: Laura Spies, Amey Wilson, Holly Newell, Georgia Clarke, Shayla Nicholson, Sophie Tanner, Millie Clarke and Charley Mulliner.

Year 8 Girls Cricket Team: Megan Tombs, Rebecca Moy, Jessica Conyard, Libby Band, Molly Rowlett, Sophie Smith, Olivia Goode, Ellie Timbrell

Year 7 Girls Cricket Team: Abby Bird, Jade Hollis, Isabelle Smethurst, Sophie Hunt, Isabel Stimson, and Ella Mason, Georgia Runacres, Leah Bass, Caitlyn Baker