March Town Cricket Club celebrate successful season with guest speaker Geoff Miller

A BUSY week for March Town Cricket Club saw them hand out a series of well-deserved awards before Geoff Miller, the chairman of the England cricket selectors, spoke at their annual dinner.

The club’s annual meeting saw Chris Ringham retain the captaincy of the first team for a sixth year, while it was also decided that players’ subscription fees should be slashed to just �5.

Ringham - who was also named as the first XI’s player of the year with a haul of 50 wickets - will lead the team’s campaign in the Tucker Gardner Premier League.

Rob Tombs is to take charge of the Sunday team, who will play their cricket in the Rutland League Division One. The club have also elected a new president, with former chairman and club captain Michael Wallis to take over from Mel Pooley.

Richard Green was awarded the Mike Wallis Trophy and opening batsman John Kaberry was named as the second XI’s player of the year in their promotion-winning season.

Captain of the third XI Matt Hubbard was named as their player of the year and second XI batsman David Haslegrave bagged the most improved player award.

Talented all-rounder James Shepherd won the fourth XI player of the year with a haul of 253 runs and 20 wickets and Josh Jackman picked up the Les Mills Trophy with a stunning average of 94. Graham Smart was named as the club person of the year.

Most Read

As well as a successful season on the pitch, the club have raised more than �500 for Help the Heroes by holding a New Years Eve function, organised by Helen Foad.

Following the meeting, the club held their 25th annual dinner in the pavilion with guest speaker Geoff Miller entertaining members with stories from his long career in cricket. A question and answer session was also held.

The dinner was organised by secretary Stephen Wallis and committee member John West.

Youth Awards


Under 11 – Batsman: Samuel Clarke, Bowler: Oliver Mann

Manager’s award: Geoffrey Kirby

Under 13 - Batsman: Lewis Welcher Bowler, Bowler: Robert Munden

Manager’s award: Ashley Payne.

Under 15 - Batsman: Brett Tinnion, Bowler: Sam Mason

Manager’s award: Thomas Dunn


Player of the Year: Emily King

Players’ player of the year: Hana Howsam

Most improved player of the year: Chanel Ogden