Dresden Philharmonic Orchestra set to open Cambridge Classical Concert series next month

Conductor Michael Sanderling

Conductor Michael Sanderling - Credit: Archant

Dresden Philharmonic Orchestra is set to open the 2015/15 Cambridge Classical Concert series next month.

The acclaimed group will perform the opening concert on Thursday October 1 at Cambridge Corn Exchange.

The concert, which begins with the Overture to Wagner’s only comic opera, Meistersinger, will be conducted by Michael Sanderling.

Award-winning piano soloist Peter Donohoe will also perform Schumann’s Piano Concerto and it will be concluded with Brahms’ Symphony No. 4.

There is also a pre-concert talk at nearby Cambridge City Hotel, free of charge to concert ticket holders.

Tickets, which are frozen at 2014 levels, range from £28.50 to £38.50 or just £12.50 for students, are available online at www.cornex.co.uk or by tel 01223 357851.

Doors 7.30pm.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter