Saddle up for a season of free cycling events across Cambridgeshire

Cambridgeshire's first Festival of Cycling

Cambridgeshire's first Festival of Cycling - Credit: Archant

TANDEMS, electric bikes and some wacky cycling machines will be available to try out in Fenland this weekend, as the first Cambridgeshire Festival of Cycling visits the district.

There will also be a vintage bike parade, competitions, and a variety of stalls, and residents are encouraged to bring along their bikes for a free maintenance check.

The festival comes to City Road car park in March on Saturday, April 13 and to Wisbech Market Place on Sunday April 14, with events running both days from 10.30am to 4.30pm.

As the free festival continues, the cycling projects team from Cambridgeshire County Council will visit Whittlesey Market Place on Saturday May 4, and Chatteris Furrowfields car park on Saturday June 16.

A spokesman for the council said: “The events are aimed at everyone – regardless of whether they are cyclists or not, and will include a bike try-out show, with tandems, electric, folding and wacky bikes available for all to try. There will also be a vintage bike parade and adapted bikes to pedal your way to a free fruit smoothie.


You may also want to watch:


“Residents can bring along their bikes for a free maintenance check and staff will carry out basic repairs. There will also be competitions, stalls, local cycle maps to take away and a chance to chat to Council staff about cycling issues.”

Mike Davies, Cambridgeshire County Council’s cycling projects team leader, said: “We’re really excited about the Cambridgeshire Festival of Cycling. The events are designed to be a great family day out and a chance for us to chat to residents about how cycling facilities in Cambridgeshire can be improved. We hope they may also encourage more residents to travel by bike if they can.”

Most Read

Events will run from 10.30am-4.30pm:

Saturday 13 April: March, City Road car park

Sunday 14 April: Wisbech, Market Place

Saturday 4 May: Whittlesey, Market Place

Sunday 5 May: Ramsey, Great Whyte

Saturday 18 May: St Neots, Market Square

Sunday 19 May: Soham, Recreation Ground

Saturday 15 June: Huntingdon, Chequers Court

Sunday 16 June: Chatteris, Furrowfields car park

Saturday 29 June: St Ives, Cattle Market

Sunday 30 June: Ely, Market Place

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus