WIN! All 19 books that make up the shortlist of 2010 Costa Book Awards for one lucky reader

THERE is nothing quite like putting your feet up with a great book and a delicious cup of coffee.

That’s why we’ve teamed up with Costa, to offer one lucky reader the chance to win a complete set of the 19 shortlisted books for the 2010 Costa Book Awards.

And for three runners-up there are Costa Coffee Club cards with �20 of credit to spend at any UK Costa outlet.

The Costa Book Awards encourage, promote and celebrate the best contemporary British writing and have the single aim of celebrating some of the most enjoyable books of the last year by writers based in the UK and Ireland.

The Costa Book Awards are unique in that they use a category system - First Novel, Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children’s Book - and so highlight a wide range of books and authors across all these five genres. The variety of books shortlisted ensures that there are plenty of deliciously good reads to suit all tastes.

We’ve got one set of each of the shortlists to give away. Three runners-up will receive A Costa Coffee Club Card with �20 of credit.

Authors vying for the awards this year included Maggie O’Farrell for The Hand That First Held Mine, Michael Frayn for his memoir My Father’s Fortune, Nikesh Shukla for his debut novel Coconut Unlimited and Paul Murray for Skippy Dies.

Most Read

Judges on this year’s panels include authors Adele Parks, Juliet Nicolson and Tim Bowler; poet Ruth Padel; biographer Caroline Moorehead OBE and broadcasters and presenters Lorraine Kelly, Anneka Rice and Anita Rani, as well as literary critics and booksellers.

The winners in each category were announced on January 5 2011. They were: The Hand that First Held Mine, Witness the Night, The Hare with Amber Eyes, Of Mutability and Out of Shadows.

The winners then go through to compete for the ultimate accolade, the prestigious Costa Book of the Year, to be announced at an awards ceremony in central London on January 25.

Since the introduction of the Book of the Year award in 1985, it has been won nine times by a novel, four times by a first novel, five times by a biography, six times by a collection of poetry and once by a children’s book.

Recent winners of the Costa Book of the Year include Stef Penney for The Tenderness of Wolves (2006), A. L. Kennedy for Day (2007), Sebastian Barry for The Secret Scripture (2008) and most recently, Christopher Reid for A Scattering.

So, for your chance to add some of this year’s most enjoyable books to your bookshelf, simply answer the following question:

Who won the Costa Book of the Year in 2006?

• A. L. Kennedy

• Stef Penney

• J.K. Rowling

To enter, send your answer on a postcard including your name, address and daytime contact number to Costa Competition, 51 High Street, March, PE15 9JJ to arrive no later than Friday January 28. Alternatively, e-mail your answer to

The winner will be the first answer drawn at random from all the correct entries.

Entry is restricted to people living in the catchment areas of the Cambs Times and the Wisbech Standard.

Archant competition rules apply.

• Archant Limited may wish to contact you about special offers, products and services by e-mail from time to time. If you WOULD like to be contacted by e-mail please include your e-mail address on your postal entry or mark your e-mail entry with ‘Agreed to contact’.

•For more information on this year’s award or to tell us your thoughts on this year’s shortlists, go to, and don’t forget to look out on 25th January to find out the 2010 Costa Book of the Year!