Friday, December 7, 2018

Seventy-eight Ely Inner Wheel members and their guests attended a lunch held at Ely Golf Club to celebrate the club’s 70th charter year.

Read more
Mike Rouse
Tuesday, November 27, 2018

It may have been a chilly start to the day in Ely but Prince Charles brought warmth and charisma to the city – even bagging himself a peck on the cheek from a fan.

Read more
James Palmer
Monday, November 12, 2018

A large crowd gathered for the lighting of the city’s new beacon of peace to commemorate the end of a remarkable Remembrance Day in Ely.

Read more
Mike Rouse
Saturday, October 20, 2018

Talks, mini-workshops and opportunities to mingle with other writers were all part of the annual writers’ day in Witchford.

Read more
Mike Rouse
Sunday, September 23, 2018

What local volunteer Amanda Wall described as “a group of amazing dogs and handlers” were guests of the US Air Force at Mildenhall on Saturday.

Read more
Mike Rouse
Saturday, September 22, 2018

If you love dogs then you’ll love this free community café that aims to bring people and K9s together in Ely.

Read more
Mike Rouse
Sunday, September 16, 2018

Ely Potato Race is close again to being under starter’s orders – with the team behind the event celebrating its seventh year.

Read more
Mike Rouse
Saturday, September 1, 2018

The Mayor of Ely was on hand to cut the ribbon at the official opening of the High Street’s newest store.

Read more
Mike Rouse
Saturday, August 25, 2018

Prickwillow Drainage Museum opened its doors yesterday for a day full of children’s activities.

Read more
Mike Rouse
Sunday, August 12, 2018

It was a day when a headline grabbing cleric was put in his place, historic Ely Cathedral flew the LGBT Pride flag, and a city celebrated diversity and the elimination of discrimination on the grounds of sexuality.

Read more
Mike Rouse
Friday, June 29, 2018

Visitors to Ely may spot a new landmark on the city’s horizon – a vast, new state-of-the-art storage facility for hundreds of thousands of books belonging to Cambridge University Library and other university collections.

Read more
Mike Rouse
Thursday, June 28, 2018

Inspirational, hardworking, caring and loyal – just some of the words that were used to describe our award-winning heroes of 2018.

Read more
John Elworthy
Thursday, June 21, 2018

Tackling knife crime and youth violence was on the agenda when seven members of the Cambridgeshire Youth Consultation Panel visited the House of Commons.

Read more
Mike Rouse
Monday, June 18, 2018

A new living complex has been officially launched with the help of the Mayor of Ely, Councillor Mike Rouse, who joined local retirees for the grand opening.

Read more
Mike Rouse
Tuesday, May 29, 2018

Soham came out to play today – brilliant weather, enthusiastic crowds and packaged together in a superb all embracing family day out.

Read more
Mike Rouse
Friday, May 25, 2018

A unique exhibition looking at the way Fenland people speak will be held at Wisbech Museum.

Read more
Mike Rouse
Monday, March 26, 2018

East Cambs Council has decided to weaken a suggestion that the view of Ely Cathedral was a vital element in opposing a £200 million energy-from-waste plant at Waterbeach.

Read more
Bill Hunt
Sunday, March 25, 2018

Councillors were told Healey Investments “are straining at the leash” to begin phase one of a £55 million office and retail development in the city that could create up to 835 jobs,

Read more
Mike Rouse
Tuesday, March 20, 2018

Upcoming writer Sylvie Short will be a new speaker at the Writers’ Day this Saturday, March 24, from 10am to 3pm in St Andrew’s Church Hall, Witchford.

Read more
Mike Rouse
Friday, March 16, 2018

An insightful evening with historian and local councillor Mike Rouse was held at Oliver Cromwell’s House in Ely.

Read more
Mike Rouse

Most read stories

Show Job Lists

Show Job Lists

Digital Edition

Image
Read the Cambs Times e-edition E-edition

Newsletter Sign Up

Cambs Times weekly newsletter
Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy